top of page

Growing Healthy Natural Hair


What is healthy hair? Often times I find myself asking this question and sometimes my answers will vary depending on how my hair feels at the time. Healthy hair for me starts when my body feels healthy. In that state I find that my hair has enough shine for days, a lot of body and movement. Of course, there are times when my hair just needs some extra love and attention. The next question I have also found myself asking is, why isn't my hair growing? Sometimes I have to take two steps back because the possibility of that being a reality feels almost maddening. Here is what I have learnt in my healthy hair journey or what i secretly call my quest for growing my hair, because let's face it, most of us want to see results.

I have learnt that constantly checking my hair length everyday will not make it grow. Instead I trick myself and protective style for a week or two then have a big reveal to cheer myself up when it is wash day. Usually by then my hair has grown a bit or seems to and that's enough for me.

I make sure that on wash day I finger detangle or use a wide tooth comb once I have spritz my hair with water or oil or conditioner. I only wash my hair in twists and I recommend you do the same to avoid tangles.

After I shampoo using a moisturizing shampoo I then proceed to condition and then deep condition my hair for about 15 minutes under a double layer of steam cap or plastic bag.

I usually wrap a turban or t-shirt around my hair to get rid of the excess water. Then I add a leaven-in conditioner that I trust since that is what really keeps your hair moist. I may follow up with a moisturizer after but not always. After that I seal with my favourite oil and tie a silk or satin scarf around my edges (hair at the perimeter of your head) to ensure that they stay neat and flat until my next wash day. After I air dry then that's it! Of course, I often times just twist my hair and rock a twist out the following day or a low bun. You can choose whatever style you like but ensure that you put the moisture back into your hair throughout the week.

Scalp massages are helpful in stimulating hair growth and while these tips are a sure-shot way to grow your hair, the rate at which your hair grows also depend on your genetics so keep that in mind.

Remember, to have healthy hair, you must do healthy things.

bottom of page