top of page

The Power Of Influence And Becoming Who We Are

Influence is a powerful construct. In many ways, it shapes everyone. Sometimes it becomes who we are and how we treat others around us. As adults playing specific roles in the lives of others, there must be a certain level of care and honesty in the things that are said and done. Influence affects everyone, whether it is to nurture or to destroy.

Influence is a powerful construct

Your Environment Becomes You

My family has always been firm yet nurturing. They stressed the importance of manners, humility and education while growing up. My mother always said that good manners could take you anywhere in the world and as I grew older I realized that I wanted to see that world, so I followed suit. My father always stressed education and its value for upward mobility. We used to read together when I was younger and now I find myself writing and publishing my own books and blogs. Indeed influence is powerful.

At school I was always shy and reticent. My teachers and peers saw this and occasionally I was told to express myself more because they apparently saw that I could do more and be more. Throughout my years of study I was always given leadership roles, much to my dismay but I must say that that has helped me to discover my passion for helping people and leading them. I was taught in school to be well-rounded and this was encouraged through sporting activities, academic workshops, and art clubs. This has helped me to easily make the transition from a volunteering and passionate Dental Hygienist to a MBA student and Writer. My teachers always stressed how important it was to be a lady and were advocates for all of us. Naturally, I find myself doing the same for others so that people can uplift themselves.

Will It Make Or Break You?

Influence can make or break you. It can give you the confidence to take risks, try a new approach or immerse yourself in opportunities and it can also be detrimental. It can crush spirits, disrupt normal cognition and create turmoil. Having the right sort of influence ultimately determines the society we live in. We might not always get it right but as long as we have life, we have the chance to do something positive.

Who I am today is nothing short of a representation of those who have influenced me and the choices that I have made. We are all influencers in our own right and so we must cultivate practices that cure and heal those around us.

bottom of page